Video Poster Image
My story is perhaps like yours?

I'm a nurse. burnt out & was never taught about money.

 

Most nurses are not taught how to invest their hard-earned money. I came from a family of nurses and most of them worked many years until retirement.  My mom worked as a nurse for over 25 years, had a back injury from lifting a patient, went on disability, and relied solely on her 401k for her retirement money.

I was  pretty bad with money myself.  I grew up in a household that never talked about money. I grew up thinking I was "bad at money" living paycheck-to-paycheck despite having $70k nursing salary. However, I soon realized that I wasn't "bad at money", I just did not have the knowledge and confidence to have good money management.

After working as a bedside nurse for over 8 years- I decided that I need to take control of my finances. I learned personal finance through books, courses and have decided in 2021 to become a Certified Financial Education Instructor (CFEI) through the National Financial Educators Council. I love all topics in personal finance but my bread & butter is investing – hence, the start of @nursewhoinvests.

 Since then, I  have invested aggressively (including becoming a day trader) in the stock market. After a year of doing this, I realized that investing long term is the way to go.

I have then invested  in individual retirement accounts, ROTH IRA, individual brokerage accounts and real estate.

In 2022, I was able to build a 6 figure portfolio and pay off $20,000 in student loan debt with my nurse salary.

I hope to teach financial education and help fellow healthcare workers learn how they can make their hard earned money work for them too, gain financial freedom and live their dream lives.

What my *dream life* looks like

 

I think what we ultimately aim for in this life is time freedom. Freedom to do what we want, when we want, with whom we want.

My dream life is being able to be there for my kids 24/7, not needing to request PTO to go to my daughter's dance recital or my son's soccer game. To spend more time with my hubby. Travel back to the Philippines when we want to. Read books until 4 in the morning without needing to set my alarm for 6. Be able to give and share my blessings. Have an impact from what I love to do the most: CREATE

Having the financial stability to *actually* live life.

 

Get to know me more:

  • Myers-Briggs/Enneagram: INFJ, Enneagram 2
  •  Zodiac sign: Libra (no wonder I am so indecisive & want to balance work/life ALL the time lol)
  • Coffee order: PSL (yep, im an autumn girly). I also love a plain + simple vanilla latte.
  • I love designing websites and could spend all day with html + javascript. I was very active during xanga days (if you know, you know lol) 
  • Influential Read: Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert
  •  I would fangirl if I see Chelsea Fagan from Financial Diet irl. 
  •  I hustle during the day but I love to play videogames at night
NEWSLETTER

Want to receive a weekly newsletter from me? Sign up here.

You're safe with me. I'll never spam you or sell your contact info.

Want to work with me 1:1?